Bursaries & Prizes

ANZAMEMS Conference Travel Bursaries

To enable current or recent postgraduates and early career researchers who are currently unwaged to attend the ANZAMEMS Biennial Conference and deliver a paper at a session, travel bursaries will be offered. The amount of funding available and hence the number of bursaries funded, will be determined by the Conference Committee after they have considered the applications.

More details and eligibility requirements for these conference travel bursaries will be available when applications open in 2020.

Kim Walker Postgraduate Travel Bursary


One of the conference bursary applicants will be selected for the Kim Walker Travel Bursary, which is awarded in honour of Kim Walker, who taught in the English program at Victoria University of Wellington. The prize is currently set at $AUD 500.

More details and eligibility requirements for the Kim Walker Postgraduate Bursary are available at the ANZAMEMS website.

George Yule Essay Prize


The George Yule Prize is awarded to the best essay written by a postgraduate. It is awarded biennially, at each ANZAMEMS Conference. The winner will receive a travel bursary for assistance in attending the conference, $AUD 500 in prize money, and a year’s free subscription to Parergon.

More details and eligibility requirements for the George Yule Prize are available at the ANZAMEMS website.

Image: The Tower of Babel / Pieter Bruegel. Credit: Ars Electronica / Robert Bauernhansl.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter